blog cognomen

It has been brought to my attention that “Suzanne’s Blog” is a pretty unimaginative moniker. And it’s true, it is.

I am overwhelmed by the whole blog naming process. I used to blog in the 90’s with the name Open Pages, then I renamed it Suzyumi (a conglomeration of my name with the word for “bow” in Japanese, but people always pronounced “Suzyummy” which was not what I intended.) On livejournal I’m Mrs. Bear (hello, I’m married and this is my husband’s nickname). I simply ran out of ideas by the time I got to wordpress.

And there are so many great names for blogs out there…

First there is the odd and random type of name:

Then there are those who shout their Blog’s name:

The last one listed also borders on the next category, which is the clever and intellectual name:

Then there are the cutsie names:

There are goth blogs with names that can’t be typed (not on my keyboard anyway)

And there are Depressing blog titles:

OK. That’s it.

I need a name. Everyone’s got one.

This is my next assignment. To come up with a name for this blog. Stay tuned.

HEY! Holy cow! That’s it!

Like tuning a violin…. tuning the student’s violins… Stay tuned to the universe.

Stay tuned.

Cool. I’ll give it a try.

So… now I just need to name my other blog

*sigh*

20 Comments

Filed under blogging

20 responses to “blog cognomen

  1. Thank God I was not accused of being clever and intellectual, it would have caused me months of rehab! Oh yeah and maybe youor could call you other blog, “The importance of simple”.

  2. Genuine- I love your blog! And the name is so good! Is that an actual photo of you in the header? So great! The layout is fabulous and the content is super! Thanks for dropping by… As for calling my other blog the “importance of simple”… hmmm Nope. Something else. But thanks! 🙂

  3. Dude!

    It’s “Semiotic” not “Semiotics” :mrgreen::!:

    I prepared for folks like you when I registered and re-directed the plural. 😀

    Love the new name for your blog here. MUCH BETTER! 🙂

  4. All fixed. You thought of everything! Glad you like the new name. 😀

    (heh. “Dude”)

  5. Thank you for the link. I have added you as well.

  6. Thanks Jeff. I love your poems! They are gorgeous!

  7. Clever and intellectual, huh? I like that. Thanks. 😉

  8. Cool – glad you like it! I really like your blog too 😉

  9. Thank you. I had just about lost all hope of getting a new reader. 😉

  10. Well, and that’s the thing you know… you just don’t have enough readers or comments on your page so you can use all the help you can get, right? 😉

  11. The girl – sorry if that sounded weird – I temporarily got you confused with
    this girl and thought you were kidding (she has about 25 comments on her latest entry) So I was confused! I tried to make a comment on your blog and it said I had to sign in, and it was all in French – which is cool, you know I thought I had it all figured out until they asked me if I was older than 13 (or did they ask if I was younger?) Anyway, I was declined, otherwise I would have left a comment. Anyway, Thanks 🙂 (I am older than 13 though, really!)

  12. Oh, I think that TypeKey started doing that because I have my dates in French. 😉

  13. Ah… that would explain it. Well, I think I’ll try again 🙂

  14. I prefer to think of it as aliteration rather then cutesy 😉

  15. Hm, a pathetic fallacy is the act of ascribing human characteristics to inanimate objects, animals, nature, etc. I didn’t mean to be depressing! Thanks for the mention, though.

  16. Wendy – Congratulations on your 5,000 views! Marvelous! Especially for only one month! You have a great blog (I did say the name was “great” and so is your blog) Thanks for dropping by! Keep coming back!

    Editrix – well, you learn something new everyday! I had no idea! I love your secret pal package~! Great page and not depressing at all! I stand corrected.
    🙂 Thanks for coming and please come again!

  17. Hey,
    I love what you’e doing!
    Don’t ever change and best of luck.

    Raymon W.

  18. Thanks Raymon!! 🙂