Concerts

I’m watching a video of my students performing the 2003 Christmas Concert. The sound is pretty good. I’m amazed to see how much the younger ones have progressed! This year they will all be playing many more songs! When they were listening to the more advanced students playing the more difficult pieces back in 2003, it was preparing them for this year. And my littlest students will just attend the concert this year and listen from the audience.

violin1.jpg To explain, my students do a tour at Christmas time, going to elderly housing places and libraries. The students all wear red vests and play their Suzuki Pieces as well as about 15 Christmas songs and Tzena, a Hanukkah song (or an Israeli Folk Song). This year the tour is on December 17th. We start practicing all of the songs sometime in October to get them all ready.

My student Abri’s solo Graduation Concert on Sunday was awesome. Simply awesome. It was in the basement of a Tibetan Buddhist Temple. Everyone wore costumes. Her playing was clear and beautiful. Several of the parents of other students cried and one of them said that if he closed his eyes, he would think he was listening to a CD. Now, I wouldn’t go that far, but her playing had good tone, good intonation and musical expression. She still has several points to work on, but it was a great concert. I gave her a standing ovation. Oh, and the duet was beautiful too. I’m enjoying teaching these children as they grow up into teenagers and adults. It’s an honor.

After the concert, I was upstairs showing Issy the Temple and we heard very fast fiddling going on downstairs. Issy and I looked at each other and went rushing back downstairs to see that they were playing musical chairs with live music from Abri! But by then the adults had gotten too involved and the spontaneity was gone. We missed it. But that’s OK – the fact that it was happening at all is a wonderful thing. Then Issy wandered over to the chess table and began to play chess with one of the other mothers. It was beautiful.

Comments Off on Concerts

Filed under Suzuki Method, Teaching

Comments are closed.