About Miss Hilary Hahn’s Encore

Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst’s Grand Caprice on Schubert’s Der Erlkönig, Op. 26, is considered one of the most difficult works ever written for solo violin. The violin assumes three vocal roles. The demands of providing distinct characterizations for the father, the young son, and the demonic Erl-King intent on stealing the child’s spirit, make this piece a real “finger-twister”.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erlking

I can’t get it out of my mind. Erlkönig (Goethe), I can’t find a recording of her performing it anywhere. She plays it so much better than eveyone else. Beautiful.

More about one of her Recital’s (which I would LOVE to hear)

6 Comments

Filed under Hilary Hahn, Music Reviews, violin

6 responses to “About Miss Hilary Hahn’s Encore

  1. So you went to see Hilary Hahn last week? I was just reading on my friend’s blog about it. They are in Utah too.

  2. Just last night. It was beautiful. Next she is in Denmark.

  3. Where is the blog you are talking about – may I read it too???

  4. Hi ! Hilary is so cool! Actually she is so hot!
    Please visit my website http://www.hilaryhahn.info and leave a note! I wanna know everything about her !
    Cheers S.